HOME

Home, the spot of earth supremely blest,
A dearer, sweeter spot than all the rest.
– Robert Montgomery

Many times, a few years ago, I would find myself waking up longing for the sound of the birds chirping in the morning. After living in the city for many years, one would have been used to not hearing birds chirping in the morning. But a weekend at home, albeit sometimes irregularly spent, never fails to bind a spell of new hope with the birds chirping in the morning. Of course, there’s the howling and barking also! Not thay I expected to have a glimpse of that kind of early morning melody playing in our part of the city.

But what can we do when our present has plans for the future? We look to the past. We reminisce. We contemplate. Then, we strive to live out a part of our present for it, and put aside a portion of the future.. even for just a moment.

For months now, I have woken up to the sound of the birds chirping in the morning. It’s not everyday that I am able to be in the Now and appreciate it, but the experience gives truth to the thought that- God knows our deepest desires, no matter how simple they may be. He strives, as we do too, to make our lives as bountiful in the midst of humble experiences.

I have a spot of home, not only in my mind and heart. I have a spot of home, not only in my dreams and memories. I have a spot of home. I am happy I have a spot of home in the city, with the sound of birds chirping in the morning. They give me hope.

Leave a Reply

