Walk in a Relaxed Manner

A few weeks ago, I had the chance to visit Sr. Marge again. One of the things we talked about was the Camino de Santiago. She told me that I should look up the article written by Fr. Ben Nebres, SJ, former president of the Ateneo. And, that I should read Joyce Rupp’s book about her camino.

So a few weeks after that conversation, Bryan and I met up with Pater, SJ. (!!!!!) I asked Pater about Fr. Ben, etc. — he actually did his camino after retiring as Ateneo President. He was about 60+ At that time? I found his article online and bookmarked it for future reference. 🙂

I can’t wait to have my hands on Joyce Rupp’s Walk in a Relaxed Manner. Here’s an excerpt I found online-

“Each of us has a camino, a road of life. This road allows us access to the spiritual richness of those who traveled before us and those who travel with us now. All loving persons we encounter leave a touch of their positive, growth-filled goodness. We can slip into this energy as easily as my hand slipped into the deeply indented print in the marble pillar of St. James Cathedral.

Whether our sources of spiritual energy traveled life’s path long ago or are still on it today, these people of faith are our teach- ers and catalysts of inspiration. Like pilgrims on the road to Santiago, their goodness empowers us as we set out each day to face the unknown, the beautiful, the challenging, and the reward- ing facets of our historical journey. This potent energy stirs in our dreams, permeates our tough decisions with wisdom, and infuses hope into every new beginning.”

Here’s Fr. Ben’s Blog too!

Leave a Reply

