Just Keep Going

Since I had time to read through this blog post from People For Others, one I saved a few months ago, these simple words from Rainer Maria Rilke’s poem struck me: “Just keep going… Don’t let yourself lose me.”

God allows us to book our own flights, pay for our own tickets, make our own decisions. But what He is trying to tell us is to not forget that He is there, ALWAYS. Whether, in a moment of fleeting happiness, thoughts of Him may seem to escape our minds; or on days filled with desolation, when we seem to greatly need His presence.

Sometimes when words and actions fail to convey how (grateful) I feel, I go to mass and sing. Despite having a voice likely to break glass and cause a storm to happen, that would be the only time you could hear me “sing.” (If you actually call that singing).

Here’s the full text of Rilke’s poem from his “Book of Hours: Love Poems to God”, translated by Anita Barrows and Joanna Macy

God speaks to each of us as he makes us,
then walks with us silently out of the night.
These are the words we dimly hear:
You, sent out beyond your recall,
go to the limits of your longing.
Embody me. Flare up like flame and
make big shadows I can move in.
Let everything happen to you: beauty and terror.
Just keep going. No feeling is final.
Don’t let yourself lose me.
Nearby is the country they call life.
You will know by its seriousness.
Give me your hand.

PS Here’s the birthday reminder from Brain Pickings.

Leave a Reply

