Longing

Quiet Pilgrim

DSC_0188

There is this assertive presence in my life that has been persistent in both pushing me forward and calling me forth. The best I can do to identify this assertive presence is to call it “longing”—”holy longing” perhaps.

There is a beautiful passage from the book, “The Wounding and Healing of Desire” by Wendy Farley that reads:

Longing is the motion of the heart toward that which it does not or cannot possess. Our deepest desires are not always known to us, but our longings are their light footsteps in the snow. If we follow them carefully, we might be led deeper into the hidden structures of our heart.1

I’m facilitating a small group right now on discernment that draws heavily on the Ignatian discernment process. My spiritual director was telling me recently that all discernment boils down to three steps: observing, understanding, and acting. In my reading and preparation for this…

View original post 241 more words

Leave a Reply

