Keep Writing

Here’s a little background on why I keep writing, despite the many demands of lawschool. A few years ago, I started posting pictures with words that I read about, found online, from a book hidden in the bookshelves, in magazines, quotes, etc.

Unconsciously, writing became my way of keeping in touch with my Mom (Mutti, as I have fondly called her in my entries. This fondness grew out of my interest in anything and everything about Germany. So for native speakers, if you find that some of my grammar in German is wrong, please feel free to correct me! I had always wanted to learn the language). I always have that slow moving picture of her in mind- slowly giving me her big smile, after reading something that I’ve written. Don’t get me wrong, it was nothing profound. But the thought of seeing her smile again… That inspires me to read, to think, to understand, to write all these things.

I wrote this one on January 5, 2014.

“Keep writing, you have such lovely stories to tell.”

Time and again, in not so many words and in not so many ways, Mutti keeps telling me that.

In a Camino speckled with grief, questions bungle our hearts. Questions of how, of what and of when. But never why.

WHY is what we learn as we go along our Camino, like footprints on the sand. It is a lesson on faith.

WHAT is by remembering, by knowing, by being. That in every waking sunrise, hope dances to the rhythm of yesterday’s moonlight. For it is by remembering that we are able to make footprints on the sand, it is by knowing that we learn, and it is by being that we are one with the Lord. It is a call to persevere.

HOW is a matter of grace. It is not something that happens in an instant, but one that we have to learn through our stream of consciousness. It helps us be more aware of God in All Things.

WHEN are those days giving us Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs.

Simple words become prayers of faith, of perseverance, and of hope as snippets of My God in All Things are reduced into writing. It also becomes a medium of fulfilling the Daily Examen, in a continuing effort to live my own Buen Camino. But more than that, they are letters of love reminiscent of days filled with laughter and tears.

So I hope to keep writing. Cause I know you’ll keep reading them. It brings to thought (now and then) of days filled with the melody of your laughter.

Zum Geburtstag Viel Gluck meine Mutti! Ich Liebe Dich! Wir Vermissen Dich!

Leave a Reply

